HB 119 requires that all Florida drivers carry $10,000 in coverage for accident injuries and a lower ceiling of $2,500 in coverage for non-emergency treatment. This latter portion is to cut down on abuses from the many staged accidents in Florida. While the bill has yet to reach the Governor’s desk, some are already starting to take action.
The new legislation would give authorities more tools to head off scams. The original 1972 law makes sure that the driver’s insurance company pays up to $10,000 for medical bills and lost wages, regardless who is at fault. This bill requires the victim to obtain treatment in 14 days or the limit goes down to $2,500. The hope is that this will decrease the number of fraudulent claims and lower insurance prices.